Asian Cuisine / Cooking Club / Dinner / Kid-Friendly / Lunch / Mexican Cuisine / Uncategorized / Vegetarian

November Cooking Club (Two Months Late)

My friends and I are still taking advantage of the great perks of having a cooking club.  Because of our busy schedules in December, and the location we use was booked up with holiday parties, we haven’t met since November.  I’ve been so busy that I haven’t had a chance to share our November cooking club experience.  The plus side is that since I was so busy I had to make all of my meals, so you get to see a photo of each one!  (I guess that’s only a plus for my readers, not so much for me since I am now out of freezer meals.)

318066_10152442112975503_437573187_n

The most fun was had when we teamed up and stuffed manicotti!  Everyone used different methods to fill them, some used their hands or spoons.  My manicotti partner and I practiced piping the filling from a storage bag and finally came up with a system that worked fairly well.  We must have looked ridiculous, and the things we had to say to each other didn’t sound quite right, but it was so much fun!  This is the one prepared meal that I forgot to photograph.  The picture above is the finished product of my friend, Kat.  Looks great!  To see more of her meals and tips, visit her blog Mom on the Go in Holy Toledo.

IMG_1473

The Shrimp Creole was my husbands favorite.  He only wished that I would have taken the time to take the tails off of the shrimp ahead of time.  I’ll admit it would have been nice, but this was about saving time.  I didn’t mind taking them off as I ate.  I will definitely assign that job to him next time I make this dish.

IMG_1511

Italian Lemon Chicken – This was the easiest to prepare.  We definitely need to do more like this!

IMG_1475

Layered Enchilada Casserole – Everyone loves a mexican lasagna!  There are so many different recipes it’s hard to choose a favorite, but this was right up there with some of the best I’ve tried.

IMG_1601

Royal Thai Thighs had mixed reviews from the cooking club.  Some of us thought it was the best of the month, others didn’t care for it so much.  I think it just depends on whether or not you’ve had thai food before.  If not, I think this is a good one to start with.  Maybe thai food is an acquired taste?

To see the recipes and methods that we used in November, view my Cooking Club page of this blog.

IMG_1462

We try to have a couple of recipes that require a little cooking, and a couple that don’t need to be cooked at all, just assembled.

IMG_1460

We always have such a great time!  I would really encourage you to get a group of friends together and try it, as well.

One thought on “November Cooking Club (Two Months Late)

  1. Pingback: Filling the Freezer: Easy and Budget friendly Italian Cuisine | Mom on the go in Holy Toledo

Leave a Reply

