Desserts / Kid-Friendly / Moms' Timeout / Uncategorized

Pummple Cake Balls

My pummple journey began about two years ago when Rachael Ray highlighted The Pumpple Cake on her daytime tv show.  The Pumpple cake consists of one layer of chocolate cake with a pumpkin pie inside, and one layer of white cake with an apple pie inside.  I knew I had to try it, but I did not have enough time to plan it for that year.  So that gave me one whole year to plan it for the next Thanksgiving.

This appealed to me because I am definitely a cake person, but you can’t not have pie on Thanksgiving.  I bought a couple of pre-made pies from the bakery.  I was very nervous about whether it would turn out and shortly after putting them in the oven, I knew it was very unlikely to be a success.  The finished product was very hard and burnt around the edges, since I had to keep the cakes in long enough for the center to cook.  The batter on top of the pie just would not bake.  If I had started with hot pies, maybe the center would have cooked at the same rate as the edges, but I could not think of any way to remove a hot pie from a pie plate and place it in the cake pans without burning myself and making a huge mess.  They did come out of the pans successfully so I cut the burnt edges off, frosted it and served it to family only as an experiment, but it wasn’t pretty.  I’m glad I wasn’t trying to impress anybody!

It is something I will never try again, but I just love the concept.  You get a taste of everything in just one bite.

So why not make something that is just one bite-or two?

The Cake Ball!

Pumpple Cake Ball

1 white or yellow cake mix, with ingredients to complete

1 chocolate cake mix, with ingredients to complete

1 + 1/2 cups cream cheese frosting

Pumpkin Pie Mix, canned

Apple Pie Filling 

Chocolate Candy Disks

Vegetable Shortening

Graham Cracker Crumbs

Line a baking sheet with waxed or parchment paper.  Spoon the pumpkin pie mix onto the cookie sheet in 1/2 t.-sized dollops.  Top with 1/2-1 teaspoon of apple pie filling.  (Don’t worry too much about being exact, you can cut them to be smaller after the are frozen, if needed.) 

Place pan in the freezer.  Prepare cakes according to package directions.  (I only used half of the cake batter to make a 9″ cake of each flavor.  I used the rest of the batter to make cupcakes to save for later.)  When the cakes have cooled, crumble them up completely.  (My favorite tools to use are a wire whisk or a pasta fork.)  In an electric stand mixer, combine each cake with cream cheese frosting, one flavor at a time.  For a 9″ cake, use 3/4 cup, for a whole cake, use 3/4 cup.  Refrigerate until firm.  When the cakes have firmed up, remove them from the refrigerator, and retrieve the frozen pie filling.  Take about a tablespoon of the yellow cake mixture and slightly push the frozen piece of pie filling into it.  Take about a tablespoon of the chocolate cake mixture and wrap it around the exposed side of the filling.

Place in the freezer to firm up.  Repeat until all of the cake balls are formed.  When they are firm, melt the candy disks (about 1/2 – 1 cup at a time) with a teaspoon of vegetable shortening.  Place a cake ball on a skewer and dip into the chocolate.  While the chocolate is still wet, sprinkle with graham cracker crumbs, if desired.  Allow the chocolate to dry (I like to stand the skewers up in a cupcake stand),

then remove the cake ball from the skewer.  (I don’t like to waste skewers.  Usually by the time I have finished the fifth cake ball, the first one is dry.  I remove the first cake ball from the skewer and use it for the next one.)  Fill the hole with a little chocolate to prevent the filling from leaking out.  Allow to dry and store in the refrigerator.  Serve cold or at room temperature.

3 thoughts on “Pummple Cake Balls

  1. Pingback: Pumpple Cookies | Lilly's Kitchen Lab

  2. Pingback: Crazy Chocolate Cake - Toot Sweet 4 Two

Leave a Reply

