Appetizers / Lunch / Sandwiches / Uncategorized / Vegetarian

Mango, Brie and Caramelized Onion Quesadillas

My mom makes wonderful lunches for us every time we visit and she has made this wonderful quesadillas a couple of times.  The combination of Mango, Brie and Onion is so appetizing!  I was so happy to see that Brie cheese was buy one get one free at our local store a couple weeks back and I just couldn’t pass it up.  Ever since having this quesadilla at my mom’s for the first time, I am always on the look-out for a good deal on the Brie cheese.  I swing by the cheese cooler everytime I shop to see if there are any good deals on it.

Mango, Brie, and Caramelized Onion Quesadilla

  • 1 small  onion, it takes about an hour to caramelize, so plan ahead
  • 1/2 mango, diced
  • brie cheese, sliced-mine came in a log that was about 1″ in diameter, I used about 1+1/2″ of it
  • 2 tortillas
  • Butter
  • Olive oil

Caramelize the onions in a pan with 1/2 T. butter and 1/2 T. olive oil over low heat until they are golden and still soft.  When this is complete, assemble the quesadilla.  Place all ingredients between 2 quesadillas to within 1″ of the edge.  Cook on a quesadilla maker or griddle sprayed with nonstick cooking spray until warm.  Cut into wedges.  Serve.

Last friday, I made these right before leaving for a friends house and they travelled so well.  After cutting them into wedges, I piled them onto a sheet of aluminum foil, wrapped them up and took them in my hot casserole carrier.  They were still warm when I got there, so I placed them in her warm oven until we were ready to eat.  Everyone enjoyed them with a glass of wine!

3 thoughts on “Mango, Brie and Caramelized Onion Quesadillas

  1. Pingback: Apple And Fontina Quesadillas With Yogurt Dipping Sauce | Jude The Foodie

  2. Pingback: Mini Muffin Corn Dog Poppers | Lilly's Kitchen Lab

Leave a Reply

