Breakfast / Desserts / Kid-Friendly / Uncategorized / Vegetarian

Pina Colada Zucchini Bread

We went to Gust Bros. Pumpkin Farm in Michigan a couple of weeks ago with the mom’s group.  We had a wonderful time.  The kids got to pick out their pumpkins and while we were in the market, I found my treasure!  This extremely large zucchini!  I had been thinking about my favorite zucchini bread, sorta disappointed that I hadn’t made it yet this year.  When I saw this and the great price, it was only 50 cents, I had to have it!

The biggest zucchini I’ve ever seen, next to an average zucchini.

Interesting fact:  Did you know that the centers of very large zucchini are just like the centers of other squash?  I was surprised to see seeds the size of pumpkin seeds, along with all the normal fibrous matter of a squash, when I cut into it.  But it makes sense, right?

Here is the recipe for my all-time favorite Zucchini Bread.  It is definitely on the sweeter side of a sweet bread.  I have slightly altered this Taste of Home recipe to my taste by withholding the rum extract and the nuts.

Pina Colada Zucchini Bread

  • 4 cups flour
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 2 t. baking powder
  • 1 + 1/2 t. salt
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 4 eggs
  • 1 + 1/2 cups vegetable oil
  • 1 + 1/2 t. coconut extract
  • 1 + 1/2 t. vanilla extract
  • 3 cups shredded zucchini
  • 1 cup canned crushed pineapple, drained

Prepare 3 9x5x3″ loaf pans or a combination of regular and mini loaf pans (I used one large and 4 mini loaf pans) by spraying with cooking spray for baking, then line the bottoms with parchment paper.  Combine the flour, sugar, baking powder, salt, and baking soda in a large mixing bowl.  Add the eggs, oil, and extracts and beat until moist.  Fold in the zucchini and pineapple.  Divide among pans, putting half as much into mini loaf pans.  Bake at 350F until a toothpick inserted in the center comes out clean.  My mini loaves took 40 minutes, my regular sized loaf pans take 60-80 minutes.

I took a loaf with me to the hotel room for my future sis-in-law’s bachelorette party this past weekend.  I was running so late to get to the hotel on time that my sister wouldn’t let me go back into my house to grab a knife to use at the hotel, so we ended up having to use one of those very skinny coffee straws.  We just kept poking the straw down into the bread across the width of the loaf to slice it; we were desperate.  But it worked!  This bread is so moist and tender that a even straw could cut it!

One thought on “Pina Colada Zucchini Bread

  1. that is a big one. makes me wish i would have posted photos of ours. Easily could have been hollowed out and used as canoes, giggle. Thank you for sharing at the Thursday Favorite Things blog hop. I’m sorry it’s taken me a little while to stop by and say thank you xo

Leave a Reply

