Dinner / Kid-Friendly / Uncategorized

Cheez-It-Crusted Chicken

“Cheez-It’s for dinner?!” my son exclaimed as he entered the kitchen tonight and smelled the aroma of his favorite crackers.

If you don’t know me, being frugal is very important to me.  I absolutely hate throwing food away.  It’s so important to me that I have decided to make use of every crumb that I can.  My husband left his box of Cheez-It crackers on the counter after finishing them one night last week.  When I went in to clean up and realized it was an empty box just sitting there I became a little agitated.  But then I thought “what if…”.  I decided those crumbs would be good for something, and that would be to coat chicken with.  We had another box open already, so I began keeping an eye on the volume of that box, too.  While I was waiting, I had to guard those cracker crumbs the best I could.  I had to hide them after my husband found them in the cupboard and wanted to throw them away.  He thought I was ridiculous.  But I’m so glad I put that effort into saving those crumbs!  Tonight’s dinner was so flavorful (and that flavor was free) and so easy.

My kids are picky when it comes to meat -which, I’m sure some of your kids are too.  My son loves Cheez-Its so much that he didn’t care that chicken was on his plate underneath them.  He ate every bite, asked for seconds, and then thirds.  My husband even made the comment that if this is what it takes to get him to eat meat, we definitely need to do this more often.  (Maybe he won’t try to throw my crumbs away anymore!)  I may even crush them on purpose next time!

So, here it is, a recipe your kids are sure to enjoy (and adults will love it, too)!

Cheez-It-Crusted Chicken

  • 1/4 – 1/2 cup Cheez-It crumbs
  • 1  1/2 T. butter
  • 2 chicken breasts, or 1 very large one cut in half to make it thinner

Preheat the oven to 400F.  Melt butter in a shallow dish.  Pour Cheez-It cracker crumbs onto a plate.  Dip the chicken into the butter so that it is very lightly coated, then push into the cracker crumbs until it is evenly coated on both sides.  Place the chicken breast into a glass baking dish.  Repeat for each piece of chicken.  Bake for 20-25 minutes, or until cooked through.  This served 2 adults and 2 small children for my family.  Double the recipe to make 4 adult-sized portions. 

6 thoughts on “Cheez-It-Crusted Chicken

Leave a Reply

