Appetizers / Dinner / Kid-Friendly / Lunch / Uncategorized

Philly Cheesesteak Quesadilla

It’s time to clean out my freezer!  Do you remember my Philly Cheesesteak Joe’s and Lettuce Wraps post?  I knew I wanted to set some leftovers aside and try one more thing with them.  How about a Philly Cheesesteak Quesadilla?

My husband and I weren’t extremely hungry last night, but I knew I had to have a little something.  This turned out to be just enough.

I had about 2/3 cup of the Philly Cheesesteak filling leftover from a month or so ago waiting for me in my freezer.  I had planned to make these in the near future, so I already had the tortillas and bell pepper, and of course we always keep a few packages of cheese at all times.  I grabbed my Quesadilla maker, set it out on the counter, and plugged it in to warm up.  After spraying it with nonstick cooking spray, I placed a tortilla on the iron, spooned about 1/3 cup of the meat mixture onto the tortilla, followed by a little extra red bell pepper, and about 1/4 cup of cheese, being careful to leave about a inch border around the edges of the tortilla.  I slapped one more tortilla on top and closed the lid.  3 minutes later, the quesadilla was complete.  I repeated this process to make one more, cut them with a pizza wheel and we were ready to eat.  It was that simple!

Quesadillas are also great for entertaining.  Have you ever had a “make your own quesadilla” party?  Set out all of the ingredients for your guests to choose from, then allow everyone to create their very own quesadilla.  Everyone will have a great time customizing their own quesadilla and sharing a triangle of their creation with others.  It’s always fun to try what other people can come up with!

3 thoughts on “Philly Cheesesteak Quesadilla

  1. We should totally have a make your own Quesadilla night! That is a great idea Lilly!! What a fun way to tryout different ingredients too! I love the idea of putting leftovers in there; normally my kiddos won’t eat leftovers but put some cheese on it and make it into a Quesadilla and they would eat it!

Leave a Reply

