Dinner / Kid-Friendly / Uncategorized

Raspberry BBQ Ribs

On the first night of our trip to Niagara Falls back in June we were looking for a place to eat dinner with our family after we each had a long drive.  We decided on Honey’s, which was the closest place to the hotel, and the food was delicious.  I tried a chicken sandwich with a raspberry BBQ sauce and it was amazing!  I am very picky when it comes to BBQ sauce and this was exactly what I love-sweet with a little tang and spice, and not smoky at all; this one was perfect.  It’s been a difficult search for me to find a BBQ sauce that I really enjoy (Apple Butter BBQ sauce from Mapleside Farms in Brunswick, Ohio is the only one so far), so I knew I had to have this one again.  I would have to try it at home.

It has taken me a couple of tries, but I formulated one that I love!  I put this sauce on baby back ribs, but I am also excited to put it on pork tenderloin and chicken.

Raspberry BBQ Sauce

  • 2 cups raspberries, fork-mashed
  • 2/3 cup brown sugar
  • 2/3 cup ketchup
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 2 cloves of garlic
  • 1 t. chili powder
  • 1 t. balsamic vinegar
  • 1 t. lemon juice
  • salt, pepper, and red pepper flakes, to taste

Combine all ingredients in a small saucepanCook over low heat until warm.

My process for making baby back ribs is as follows:

Baby Back Ribs

Line a rimmed baking sheet or roasting pan with aluminum foil.  Place ribs meat-side-up on the foil.  Drizzle white vinegar over the meat.  Sprinkle and rub with a good amount of salt, garlic powder, chili powder, and Montreal Steak seasoning.  Place another sheet of aluminum foil over the top to seal the ribs.  Bake at 300F for 2 hours.  Remove the aluminum foil from the top of the ribs, and bake for 1 more hour.  Brush sauce over the ribs and bake 5 more minutes.  Cut each rib apart and enjoy!

As I promised in my Cast Iron Skillet Chicken Vesuvio post, I made oven-roasted potato wedges again using my cast-iron skillet and it was so easy.  I really do like them a lot more than baking them on a baking sheet; I am now committing to always roasting my potatoes in my cast-iron skillet!

Along with corn, this made the perfect side for a wonderful summertime family dinner!

One thought on “Raspberry BBQ Ribs

Leave a Reply

