Appetizers / Dinner / Kid-Friendly / Uncategorized

Pepperoni Pizza-Stuffed Mushrooms

I bought some mushrooms at the store last week because they were such a great deal.  It’s something that I always pick up because we all love them and they can be thrown into any recipe.  But they were still just sitting there and I had no real plans for them yet.

I began to think of all of the stuffed mushrooms I’ve had before and realized I haven’t had many Italian-style stuffed mushrooms.  What’s one of our favorite Italian meals that always includes mushrooms?  PIZZA!  My husbands favorite pizza toppings have always been pepperoni and mushrooms so I thought I would put some pepperoni pizza-stuffed mushrooms together for him.

Pepperoni Pizza-Stuffed Mushrooms

  • 1 (8-oz) pkg. mini bella mushrooms
  • 1/4 cup mozzarella cheese
  • 4 thin slices of deli sandwich pepperoni, or 10-15 pizza-sized pepperonis, diced
  • 1 slice pizza pepperoni per mushroom
  • 1/4-1/2 cup pizza sauce or spaghetti sauce
  • 1/8-1/4 cup Italian style breadcrumbs (if desired)
  • 1/8-1/4 cup grated parmesan cheese
  • Dried basil and oregano

Preheat the oven to 350F.  Prepare a 9-inch baking dish by spraying it with nonstick cooking spray.  Remove the stems and gills from the mushrooms.  Dice the stems and combine them with the mozzarella cheese and diced pepperoni, then add enough pizza sauce to make it moist.  (I happened to only have 8 slices of pizza-sized pepperoni, so I kept those for the topping later and used my husbands sandwich pepperoni lunchmeat for the filling.)  Spoon the filling into the mushrooms and place each one in the prepared pan.  Top with 1/2 t. each of breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese.  Place a pepperoni slice on top of each mushroom and again top with a sprinkle of breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese.  Lightly sprinkle them with dried basil and oregano.  Bake for about 25 minutes.

These were so delicious and they went together so quickly.  It was the first thing the kids chose to eat from their plates.  They kept asking for more!  I had to call my husband into the kitchen fast if he wanted to have any, especially since I made them for him!

These can very easily be made into vegetarian stuffed mushrooms by substituting your favorite pizza toppings into the filling.  They would still taste wonderful even if the breadcrumbs were withheld to make them wheat-free.

With the mushrooms, I prepared sauteed chicken thighs that had been dipped in a mixture of Italian breadcrumbs and parmesan cheese, using about 2 parts breadcrumbs to 1 part cheese.  Again, very little prep work!  Cook up some extra veggies and this meal is complete!

2 thoughts on “Pepperoni Pizza-Stuffed Mushrooms

Leave a Reply

