Desserts / Kid-Friendly / Uncategorized

Chocolate-Chip and Potato-Chip Cookies

Are you willing to try new things?  Do you consider yourself to be experimental when it comes to trying new foods?  Until just a few weeks ago, I never knew a cookie could scare people so much!  I received a recipe for Martha Stewart’s Potato Chip Cookies in my inbox a while back (I, of course, withheld the pecans due to allergies in the family).   A few weeks ago, we threw a bridal shower for my future sister-in-law; while the girls were at the shower many of the guys gathered at a different location.  I thought these cookies would be perfect to try, thinking they were “manly” cookies.  My mom was actually on the same page because she had printed out the same recipe on her own and had listed it on her menu, as well.  I made them the morning of the shower and left them with my husband to take to the “men’s party”.  What I thought would be considered a “man’s dessert” was actually scary to a lot of the men.  Of the men who were man-enough to try them (or those that didn’t realize what they were eating), most of them liked them.  When my husband saw me later that evening, he wanted to know what happened to the cookies I sent with him.  He said it seemed like someone took a perfectly good cookie and pushed them into a bowl of potato chips.  I think he truly believed one of the kids did something to them.  Of course, I had to tell him that was exactly what happened and that it was intentional.  He does not usually like to try new things, and I think he just could not mentally get over the oddity of the cookie.  My brother-in-law kept eating them, I hope it wasn’t just because he felt bad.  I genuinely liked them just as much as I like any chocolate chip cookie.

Speaking of chocolate chip cookies, have you ever tried a chocolate-dipped potato chip?  I have wanted to ever since I saw them in my inbox from a food.com email.  It came to mind while I was making these cookies.  I had to try the cookie without chocolate first, but was very tempted to throw some chocolate chips in.  I had so much to do and became very pressed for time, so I only had time to bake half of the cookies (without chocolate of any kind).  I put the rest of the dough in the fridge to experiment with later.

After my busy weekend, I had a chance to bake more cookies.  I let the dough warm up and I made sure to include some chocolate chips in some of them before forming the dough balls.  I also baked some more of them without the chocolate chips and I dipped half of these into melted chocolate.

If you want to include chocolate in the cookie, chocolate chips are the least time consuming, although if I have to choose my favorite of the three variations, I would choose the cookies that had been dipped in chocolate.

Chocolate-Chip and Potato-Chip Cookies

  • 2 sticks unsalted butter, softened
  • 3/4 cup packed brown sugar
  • 3/4 cup granulated sugar
  • 1 t. vanilla extract
  • 2 large eggs
  • 2 1/4 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 t. baking soda
  • 3/4 t. salt
  • 4 cups crushed potato chips, divided (I crushed mine in a storage bag with my fingers)
  • 2 cups semi-sweet chocolate chips (optional)

Beat the butter and sugars on high speed until fluffy, 2 to 3 minutes. Add vanilla and eggs, then beat on medium speed until just combined.  Add the dry ingredients and beat on low speed until just combined.  Fold in 2 cups potato chips and the chocolate chips, if desired.  Place the remaining potato chips on a plate.  Form 1-inch balls, then roll in the remaining potato chips. Place the cookies 2 inches apart on a parchment-lined baking sheet.  Bake 9-12 minutes in an oven preheated to 375 F.

When my family makes regular chocolate chip cookies, we all fight to find the ones with no chocolate chips, so I have begun only using half the chocolate chips the recipe calls for.  For these cookies, I actually preferred to have the full amount of chocolate chips.

I am still trying to think of other variations, but I think I may try them with kettle-cooked potato chips soon, or pringles.  My sister has told me that her mother-in-law has made potato chip cookies with butterscotch chips in them.

If you try these, please let me know how you like them!

2 thoughts on “Chocolate-Chip and Potato-Chip Cookies

  1. I thought the ones dipped in the chocolate tasted amazing! I had my hubby taste them and he said they tasted good but not extraordinary. I think he was bummed. He thought the idea of potato chips and cookies, which are both excellent snacks by themselves, would be extraordinary together. I love the idea of experimenting and trying new foods and recipes, keep them coming Lilly!

Leave a Reply

