Breakfast / Kid-Friendly / Sandwiches / Uncategorized

Grilled Cheese Donut

For our back-to-school breakfast this week I made Grilled Cheese Donuts.  I heard about these on an episode of The Chew and it really intrigued me, but I was unsure what time of day to even serve them.  I decided splurging for breakfast once in a while would be okay-it was the first day of school!

My favorite grilled cheese sandwich consists of Muenster cheese and raspberry preserves.  I decided the best donut to use would be a glazed Krispy Kreme.  They are so soft and just melt in your mouth.  I can’t even imagine making a sandwich our of a firmer donut.  Here is a recipe for you to try:

Grilled Muenster Cheese Donut with Raspberry Preserves

  • 1 glazed Krispy Kreme donut
  • 1 slice Muenster cheese
  • 1-2 t. Raspberry Preserves
  • 1 slice of ham (optional)

Slice the donut and butter the cut sides, then place the cut sides down.  Tear the slice of Muenster cheese into pieces to fit around the ring of the donut, placing it directly upon the glaze.  (Avoid putting cheese over the hole in the middle.)  Spoon about 1-2 t. of the raspberry preserves around the ring, then top with a slice of ham, if desired, and place the other half of the donut on top, cut-side-out.  (Be careful not to use too much of the preserves or it will ooze out and burn.)  Cook in a skillet or on a griddle for about 2 minutes per side.  Makes 1 sandwich.

Although I usually do not put ham on my grilled cheese, I thought the kids could use the extra protein in theirs to help get them through until snacktime.

Tummy’s full and ready to go!

What are your favorite grilled cheese sandwich fillings?  Would you ever try it on a donut?

3 thoughts on “Grilled Cheese Donut

Leave a Reply

