Dinner / Mexican Cuisine / Uncategorized / Vegetarian

Pineapple-Black Bean Enchiladas

I am so glad I am finally able to get back into my kitchen!  I haven’t had any recipes to share for a while because I have been ill.  After a week and a half of either no food or bland food, I was ready for some flavor.  I’ve been in the mood for mexican and I love pineapple with my mexican food.  I actually can’t think of anything that pineapple doesn’t go well with.  (I’m sure there’s something, but I’m so hungry I would eat anything right now.)  It was time for Pillsbury’s Pineapple-Black Bean Enchiladas!  I’ve made these twice over the last couple of years and I absolutely love them. 

The filling consists of sauteed onion, red pepper, pineapple tidbits, black beans, diced green chiles, cilantro and cheese (I used a Mexican blend). 

Spread red enchilada sauce onto the tortilla to soften it and prevent it from cracking, place the filling toward one end, and roll them up. 

Place them in a 9×13″ baking pan coated with nonstick cooking spray, top with more enchilada sauce, a little reserved pineapple juice and cheese.  Bake them at 350F for about 35 minutes. 

Everytime I make enchiladas, I end up with extra filling.  I love to save it to make nachos!  Or to have an “almost free” dinner at a later date, freeze the leftover filling, even if it’s only enough for one or two enchiladas.  When you’ve gathered enough filling, roll ’em up, top with salsa and cheese and bake.  There have been times I’ve made a pan of enchiladas that had two each of three different kinds of enchiladas.  I love having half of each enchilada! 

This recipe suggests starting the baking process with foil sprayed with nonstick cooking spray covering the enchiladas, then removing it for the last 10 minutes.  This worked out perfectly to add a little texture to the tortillas. 

To make the filling process easier next time, I think I will place shredded cheese directly on top of the filling of each enchilada, instead of melting it into the filling in the pan.  The melted cheese was so stringy, it was a little difficult to transfer from the pan to the tortilla. 

I’m thinking I may try this with green enchilada sauce next time and maybe even use mango instead of the pineapple.

3 thoughts on “Pineapple-Black Bean Enchiladas

Leave a Reply

