Dinner / Kid-Friendly / Lunch / Sandwiches / Uncategorized

Philly Cheesesteak Joe’s and Lettuce Wraps

The Philly Cheesesteak is something I definitely get cravings for. I came across a photo on Pinterest, originally posted by Six Sisters’ Stuff, for Philly Cheesesteak Sloppy Joe’s and realized I hadn’t had a cheesesteak in a few months.

 http://www.sixsistersstuff.com/2011/06/philly-cheesesteak-sloppy-joes.html 

The ingredients for sloppy joes are a staple in our house because it’s so easy to do when time is limited, or when I lose my menu plan for the week. We do a couple of different variations, but this one really intrigued me.

Simply brown 1 lb. of desired ground meat, then add onions, peppers and mushrooms (I used porcini). Cook until all veggies are tender and add A1 and water. Mine had plenty of flavor with 2 T. of sauce, and a couple of tablespoons of water to loosen it up a bit. We topped ours with mozzarella instead of the typical provolone (that’s what we had on hand, and I don’t care for the smoky flavors of provolone) and dressed it with Sweet Baby Ray’s Signature Sauce instead of mayo for an extra kick!  I just discovered this sauce in my cupboard this week and I have been using it on everything!  It’s just like a remoulade.

The next evening, I made philly cheesesteak lettuce wraps with the leftovers! Great for a hot summer evening when it’s too hot to cook.

I just microwaved the meat a little to loosen it up a bit and so the house didn’t heat up. You could definitely serve the filling cold or warm.

I usually freeze my leftover sloppy joe meat in ice cube trays for a last minute dinner for the kids on a busy day. After they are completely frozen, I release them from the tray and store them in a freezer bag, then pop one out for each child-sized sandwich.  I usually just make it for them on half a slice of bread, but I have even given it to them without any bread at all.

This time, however, I have another idea in mind for the leftovers. I’m tossing the rest in the freezer for the next time I’m in a dinner pinch; I will let you know when I try it!

One thought on “Philly Cheesesteak Joe’s and Lettuce Wraps

  1. Pingback: Philly Cheesesteak Quesadilla « Lilly's Kitchen Lab

Leave a comment