Allergen-Free / Desserts / Kid-Friendly / Uncategorized

Allergen-Free Cookies ‘n’ Cream Rice Krispies Treats

Who doesn’t love Rice Krispies Treats?  I can remember being a teenager and my sister and I would sit down with a pan of them and keep cutting and eating more until we couldn’t fit another one in.  I came across a recipe for Cookie’s n’Cream Rice Krispie Treats on the Glorious Treats blog and they looked amazing.  Rice Krispie Treats are a frequently-made dessert for my family because they are wheat-free.  Wheat is one ingredient that my nephew is allergic to and it is in almost every dessert.  It is so difficult to find a dessert that we can all share.  When I saw this recipe, I immediately thought of KinniToos, a wheat-, egg-, and dairy-free chocolate sandwich creme cookie.  In Toledo, we buy ours at Meijer.  By using margarine, instead of butter, you can make these dairy-free too.

Allergen-Free Cookies ‘n’ Cream Rice Krispies Treats

  • 6 cups Rice Krispies cereal
  • 20 Kinnitoos cookies
  • 5 1/2 cups mini marshmallows
  • 3 T. butter or margarine

Crush the Kinnitoos cookies in a plasic bag.  Melt the butter and marshmallows in a large pot.  Add cereal and cookies to the pot and stir to combine.    Press into a 9×13″ pan that has been coated with non-stick cooking spray.  (I like to use the butter wrapper to press it down evenly.)  Allow to cool, then cut with a serrated knife.  Enjoy!

Sometime in the future, I would love to try to make my own marshmallows to make these corn-free too!  Have you ever made marshmallows in your kitchen?

One thought on “Allergen-Free Cookies ‘n’ Cream Rice Krispies Treats

Leave a Reply

